This blog...

...was initially for pieces done on a computer, but has since become a free-for-all. Here you'll find process work (digital and otherwise), sketch pages and studies, sometimes with commentary.

You can see the rest of my work here.

Remember kids : if you can't make pretty designs, at least make pretty lines!


Saturday, December 7, 2013

Migrating To Tumblr

With 2014 nearly upon us, I'm making a clean break.  Blogger, it's been real.

Please continue to follow my stuff here!

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Sunday, December 1, 2013

Saturday, November 30, 2013

Friday, November 29, 2013

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Monday, November 25, 2013

Friday, November 22, 2013

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Monday, November 18, 2013

Sunday, November 17, 2013

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Monday, November 4, 2013

Sunday, November 3, 2013

Bot Demo

Here's a demonstration of variation to be found within a single thrumbnail, created from a square brush and selections in Photoshop.  #147 is broken up internally three different ways, with no drastic departures from the original plan.

Formed From Abstracts

Friday, November 1, 2013

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Dewlap Neck

pixelate > pointillize, gaussian blur, motion blur

In this Frazetta crop, I tried to come up with a way of synthesizing that grain texture he did.  Kinda didn't get it -- at all -- but using this effect on a layer set to "Exlusion" yieled this.

Meeting Bots

Sunday, October 27, 2013

Friday, October 25, 2013

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Frazetta Darks

New Lines

Lena astutely pointed out that I was creating "new lines" or unwanted edges into my stuff, and showed how gradients could fix this.  I have to make sure that sharpness I add into my paintings serves a purpose (changing plane, etc.) and isn't just there for its own sake.  

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Pencil Test

Painting under lines hasn't been working out for me -- was always getting away from the spirit of the drawing -- so I decided what I needed was something halfway between lines and shadow data.  By working under/over/within this "pattern mask" (i.e. the darkest darks) and keeping the original drawing nearby for comparison, I came up with this.